Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The Pontoon Pirate sails again.....

I actually finished this project in June, but haven't had time to post it here. This will be in multiple posts, because this forum only allows 4 images per post/

First some background. I've been welding for about 35 years since I learned to stick and OA weld on the farm as a teenager, but I would consider myself a hobbyist welder since I was never paid as a "weldor". (I did work as a heavy equipment mechanic many years ago that involved welding as part of repair duties, but not that often.....)

About 10 years ago I started getting into restoring old cars and doing large art projects, and bought a Miller 180SD Syncrowave. At the time, I really wanted a 250 Syncro, but couldn't afford it. About a year ago, I came across a nice 350 Syncro with a blown main board on the cheap and bought it. It only took a couple of hours to troubleshoot the problem and fix it, so now I had a nice 350, much bigger than I wanted, but I have the space (and power) to feed it. I sold the 180SD.

We have a small house on a lake, so we have a bunch of water toys, ski boat, jet skis, etc. For the last couple years, I thought it would be nice to have an old beater pontoon boat, and had this wild hair idea to get an old pontoon, put an upper deck on it, and put a slide on the upper deck for the kids. In January, I was browsing Craigslist, and saw a pontoon for sale locally really cheap, with motor and trailer. Showed the picture to the wife, and she said "go for it". A few hours later, I was towing home the pontoon, no clue if the motor was any good (it was like zero degrees out! Fortunately, the engine was in good shape, I later discovered).

Here's a photo of the pontoon as I bought it, before work was started.