Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 15 of 22 FirstFirst ... 51011121314151617181920 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 220
  1. #141
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Spooled wire can be straightened with a vise and a slide hammer. Pull until straight. Takes a few hits to get it right, trim off the clamped ends. Won't work on flux core but fine on solid wire. The idea is to stretch it a tiny amount.


  2. #142
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    135

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_J View Post
    Spooled wire can be straightened with a vise and a slide hammer. Pull until straight. Takes a few hits to get it right, trim off the clamped ends. Won't work on flux core but fine on solid wire. The idea is to stretch it a tiny amount.
    Good tip ... thanks.

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default small filler

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_J View Post
    Spooled wire can be straightened with a vise and a slide hammer. Pull until straight. Takes a few hits to get it right, trim off the clamped ends. Won't work on flux core but fine on solid wire. The idea is to stretch it a tiny amount.

    I use a 18" piece of 1/16" copper tube straightened out, just feed the filler wire into it, this holds it straight, works for me...............

    I dont know where to get the copper tube, I think this came off a control bulb from some instrument.

    I use it on .023 filler wire, I need to come up with a small spool to mount on the end of the tube so I can load it and go for awhile as I use quite a bit of the stuff.
    mike sr

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Noob first post

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I figured out the spot welding function on the Dynasty 200 yesterday. I practiced welding stainless filler rods together end to end and Tee joints, this is the first time I have been able to do this with any degree of success!200 amps for .1 second will butt weld 3/32" filler rods, the secret is to use as short a time as possible and high current settings. I made several types of welds on various 308 filler rods with a high degree of success.RMT2 hold, dc, .1 second 200 amps are the settings used, and I am sure I will improve over time.I attached a couple of pictures...........
    Awesome! Can I do the same with my 250dx and a foot pedal?Or do I need some other remote to trigger the spot function?On a related note, I have not yet found the noob corner here, I am especially interested in books for beginners. Thanks!Chris

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Yes you can do the spot function with what you have, you will have to read the manual to get it setup, I believe RMT2, then push the amp knob in to set the time for the spot function.
    Its been awhile since I used this but it is a useful function.
    mike sr

  6. #146
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Rm 2t vs spot

    Ok so you thnk I can trigger this function with the regular foot pedal. Cool! Reading in the cryptic manual ( English, plain, would be nice. ) I am confused about doing this with the rmt 2t vs spot functions. Are they both pieces of the same puzzle or is the 2t used to vet the extra starting and stopping ramps while the spot function just makes the square envelope?Thanks!Beez

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    set the machine to dc tig.
    set the machine to rmt2t.
    set the amps you want.
    push the amp knob in and release.
    set the spot time.
    Both the amps and spot time are set with the same knob.

    Depress the foot control when you are ready.
    experiment with the settings to get the desired weld.

    check the attachments, a couple of the pics are of what I did with it a few months back.

    The attachments I am refering to are the paperclip in the main title on this thread.

    My manual is in english, however it isnt really clear on a couple of things.

    I think this covers how to set it up, have fun...........
    Last edited by popspipes; 10-18-2011 at 08:20 AM.
    mike sr

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2,987

    Red face LinkBack To: Dynasty 300 Problems...

    "Miller Dynasty 300DX problem, video inside"

    Regardless of the resolution of this problem.. the info contained in it should be available in the "Dynasty Process Setup" sticky.... this is not the first time a dyn owner has had similar probs and will not be the last.....
    Does look a lot like Operator Buttonology probs...... I have been outsmarted by my Dyns more than once myself....(200DX & 350DX) no shame to it... they are complex machines with nested menus and a sometimes less than intuitive inteface....

    http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...m-video-inside.

    I linked it back so that hopefully sometime in the future a perplexed Dyn owner will find some helpful wisdom in it...

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    now in Orlando!!!!
    Posts
    559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I just use a small ammount of filler, I have a piece of 1/16" copper tube about 24" long, I feed a length into that and use it as a rod holder, works pretty well for the small stuff and takes the curl out of it.
    What a great Idea, thanks for sharing....Paul
    More Spark Today Please

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Louisa, VA.
    Posts
    3

    Default Lowest DC amps is 3

    Can anyone tell me why my Dynasty 200DX (Latest) will only go down to 3 amps. Not a big deal but 1 amp is advertised. Thanks.
    wayne lewis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 62

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 137