Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst 12345678914 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 220
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Webster WI
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Mike

    Don't know on your machine but on the dynasty 350 you go to the advanced function portion, press the dig button till you get to spot, turn encoder to spot on, then exit out of advanced functions, press the amperage button twice to see spot on time and turn encoder to set the time. I kept missing the press amperage button twice and could not get anything to work.

    Hope it helps with your welder.

    Leefy
    Last edited by Leefy; 08-14-2009 at 09:57 AM.


    Dynasty 350 - My New Baby
    Millermatic 210 Mig with Spoolmate 3035
    Miller Thunderbolt XL 225/150 AC/DC Stick Welder
    Miller Specturm 625 Plasma Cutter
    Speedglas 9100 auto dark helmet
    Jackson auto dark helmet
    18.5 CFM Eagle Compressor
    Oxy/Act
    Horizontal Band Saw
    Dewalt 14" Chop Saw
    7 1/2 Dewalt Angle Grinder
    4 - 4 1/2" Sears Angle Grinders
    1 - 4" Makita Angle Grinder
    2 - IR Die Grinders
    All of which my wife says will be a "he$$ of a garage sale"

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I am trying out the spot function, I cant seem to be able to set the spot time, it seems to be fixed at about one second??
    I would like to go below one second if possible. I dont see anything in the manual about changing the length of time while in spot mode.
    Anyone have any input on this?
    Pops.....
    I too want the same information, so I will be watching this thread.

    I can set the Spot function OK. I cannot even get the Spot signal to show up again after I shut off and then restart the machine, much less have the 1 second default time appear anywhere.

    All I get is the amperage setting by turning the encoder button. The 'S' light never turns on.
    I am sure I am missing something simple, but I can read, and it does not work for me either....... pg
    Dynasty 200 DX_set up on 3 phase
    Coolmate 3
    MM 251 w/ Spoolmatic 30A
    HTP 625 Micro Cut Plasma Cutter
    Victor O/A Rig
    Bridgeport Mill_3 phase (w/ Acu-Rite 4 axis DRO)
    10 inch South Bend Lathe_3 phase
    Baldor Double Cup Tool Grinder_3 phase
    Baldor 10 inch Buffer
    Rockwell 12 inch Disc Sander
    Cyclone 2ft X 3ft Bead Blast Cabinet
    Quincy 325 2stg- Air Compressor_3 phase
    Graymills Built-in Parts Washer
    Rockwell/Delta Planer, HD Shaper, Uni-Saw etc.


  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    On mine when set to the spot function it will show spot on the readout when turning the machine on, the only thing thats variable are the amps unless I am missing something??
    It says a "timed" function, but no provision to set the time??
    mike sr

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Popspipes......
    OK, I think I got it. Let me see if I can give the steps required to get to Spot Times:
    1) Set the machine to 2T and adjust to Spot under 'Advanced Functions-section 6.'
    2) Turn off the machine to retain the Spot setting.
    3) Start the machine. The light at PMT 2T should be bright. If it is not on, then press the 'Output' key one tome to light it up.
    4) Now go and press the Amperage Key (A) one time and the reading should be 1.0 (this is 1 second)
    Turn the encoder knob to increase or decrease the time setting.

    What I did not see in the instruction was to push the A key to gain the reading and setting of the time interval. I am sure that is in there somewhere, but it takes me a while to get it...... pg
    Dynasty 200 DX_set up on 3 phase
    Coolmate 3
    MM 251 w/ Spoolmatic 30A
    HTP 625 Micro Cut Plasma Cutter
    Victor O/A Rig
    Bridgeport Mill_3 phase (w/ Acu-Rite 4 axis DRO)
    10 inch South Bend Lathe_3 phase
    Baldor Double Cup Tool Grinder_3 phase
    Baldor 10 inch Buffer
    Rockwell 12 inch Disc Sander
    Cyclone 2ft X 3ft Bead Blast Cabinet
    Quincy 325 2stg- Air Compressor_3 phase
    Graymills Built-in Parts Washer
    Rockwell/Delta Planer, HD Shaper, Uni-Saw etc.


  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,837

    Default

    Section 6.6

    Turn Encoder control to turn Spot
    on and off. Once on, exit set-up and
    press Amperage control switch pad
    twice and turn Encoder control to
    set spot time.
    The spot time default
    is zero for each program. Spot Enable
    works in RMT STD and RMT
    2T Hold only. When a foot control is
    connected, amperage is controlled
    at the machine, not by a remote
    control.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Yes, I found the instruction to press the A key in Section 5 pg 31 of my manual.
    The first time you press A you can set the amperage setting of the spot (I thought I had already done that in Section 6)

    A second press of the A key gets you to the time setting. Not rotate the encoder knob and watch the times change!

    It's simple if you can read carefully enough, which I am obviously not too capable of doing. ...
    pg
    Dynasty 200 DX_set up on 3 phase
    Coolmate 3
    MM 251 w/ Spoolmatic 30A
    HTP 625 Micro Cut Plasma Cutter
    Victor O/A Rig
    Bridgeport Mill_3 phase (w/ Acu-Rite 4 axis DRO)
    10 inch South Bend Lathe_3 phase
    Baldor Double Cup Tool Grinder_3 phase
    Baldor 10 inch Buffer
    Rockwell 12 inch Disc Sander
    Cyclone 2ft X 3ft Bead Blast Cabinet
    Quincy 325 2stg- Air Compressor_3 phase
    Graymills Built-in Parts Washer
    Rockwell/Delta Planer, HD Shaper, Uni-Saw etc.


  7. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Broccoli1 View Post
    Section 6.6

    Turn Encoder control to turn Spot
    on and off. Once on, exit set-up and
    press Amperage control switch pad
    twice and turn Encoder control to
    set spot time.
    The spot time default
    is zero for each program. Spot Enable
    works in RMT STD and RMT
    2T Hold only. When a foot control is
    connected, amperage is controlled
    at the machine, not by a remote
    control.
    Thanks Ed, it works like a champ, I guess I just needed to do more reading!
    mike sr

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by piniongear View Post
    Yes, I found the instruction to press the A key in Section 5 pg 31 of my manual.
    The first time you press A you can set the amperage setting of the spot (I thought I had already done that in Section 6)

    A second press of the A key gets you to the time setting. Not rotate the encoder knob and watch the times change!

    It's simple if you can read carefully enough, which I am obviously not too capable of doing. ...
    pg

    I have an excuse, I am old guy ha!!
    mike sr

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,837

    Default

    Your Mom was right- Vegetables are good for you
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hazelwood Mo USA
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leefy View Post
    Mike

    Don't know on your machine but on the dynasty 350 you go to the advanced function portion, press the dig button till you get to spot, turn encoder to spot on, then exit out of advanced functions, press the amperage button twice to see spot on time and turn encoder to set the time. I kept missing the press amperage button twice and could not get anything to work.

    Hope it helps with your welder.

    Leefy
    I think the time setting should be included in the set up instruction. I tried it out on two .020 clamped together, did a nice repeatable job 110 amps for .3 seconds on my 200 dynasty.
    There cant be any gap between the materials either or it wont work right.

    That would do a job on that handle you were talking about in an earlier post.....
    Last edited by popspipes; 08-14-2009 at 07:23 PM.
    mike sr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.