Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Smoker

Default Smoker

I am planning on building a smoker out of 24" pipe that is 1/4" thick and about 48" long. I was wondering what would be the idea size for a fire box. I was thinking about 24"x24" x24". I am also wanting to build a small trailer for the smoker to be on. I was thinking about building it out of 4" c channel for the frame and building a rack on it to put firewood. I thought about flooring it with expanded metal but wombanized flooring would be cheaper. I am not an expert at this by any means, so i have a few questions. I have not bought any material yet so all feedback on different material types to use would be appreciated. The first question i have is about the firebox size, what would be the optimum size, I know that is a probably a question of personal choice but maybe somebody has some input. i am on a somewhat tight budget so any tips to save money would be appreciated. I am planning on stick welding most of it, because that is what i am most comfortable with, but may also mig some. i wanted to build the actual grating out of SS expanded metal with 3/4 inch angle iron around the edges, but SS is too high. Well I have went on long enough, but any input is appreciated.