Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: just a question

Question just a question

I am a pipe welder, but things are a lot slow at the company i work for. i have a 250 amp diesel welder and a miller thunderbolt ac/dc, with these machines i have the option to tig with both. and i have the experience to do them too, i have only been welding for 1 1/2 years. im thinking about a small business on the side. is this a good idea? and i keep reading the mobile wrlder thread, what price should i start with i dont have a shear or a big shop, just the 2 welders an some hand/ power tools.

If your a pipewelder and have a nice machine, just build a rig and start running fab or mainline. I think with the way things are now days, you could make more money running pipe. Plus theres alot of projects on the east coast right now and you could still do small jobs on the side.
    But thats just my two cents
    Good luck!

P.S. jobs I have worked lately pay $35-40 an hour on the arm and $15 an hour for your rig. Perdiem is around $90-105 per day.
    Last edited by sae350; 07-25-2009 at 09:45 PM.
    2007 dodge 3500 cummins

Here are two threads that I enjoyed that addressed the cost of welding:

http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...ight=shop+cost

http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...ight=shop+cost

Good Luck!

Miller Thunderbolt
    Smith Oxyacetylene Torch
    Miller Dynasty 200DX
    Lincoln SP-250 MIG Welder
    Clausing/Coldchester 15" Lathe
    16" DuAll Saw
    15" Drill Press
    7" x 9" Swivel Head Horizontal Band Saw
    20 Ton Arbor Press
    Bridgeport