Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default service body as a tool trailer...

Hey guys,
    I am thinking of taking the service body off of a truck and making it into a trailer for my equipment. I dont want another truck, and I have already found a service body for a good price. I like the idea of having all my equipment in one organized, and mobile spot. I will even make it a self sufficent unit, with the generator.

Im not a weldor by trade, Im a firefighter and a farmer. I need my tools weather Im at my house, my dads, at the barn or in a field. Its a pain in the butt to load all the tools into a truck and haul them around.

Anyways, My plan is to build a frame to mount the body to. The tong of the trailer will be extended to allow mounting the generator to. In the bed I will mount my air compressor, weldor, O&A torch set, and saw horses. Then use the boxes to hold all the mic. hand tools and power tools, etc. I would like to have an air reel and power cord reel mounted ontop of the boxes for quick and easy use too. I can also use the rear bumper as a small work surface with a vice mount.

I have seen one other trailer like this and realy liked the concept, I have not been able find others on the net, If yall have seen any and will post a link so I can get some more ideas it would be greatly appreciated. This is also the first trailer I will be constructing and I have been realy impressed by what I have seen on this board and hope some of you will be so kind as to give me some pointers and tips as I build this.

Thanks in advance for any help I may recive on my project. I will take pics and keep all posted as I complete this.
    Thanks Robbie

Default My version

Robbie -