Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Stainless Steel Welding Problems...

Hey guys,

I'm definately new around here, and I just wanted to say the site looks great, and I'm sure I'll be back often to read over all the various threads...

A little about me, I work in the machine shop at the local university (I'm also a student) and occasionally do a little welding when specific jobs come in that require it... mostly TIG and MIG...

Recently, I ran into a problem when trying to TIG some 316 stainless... The joint configuration is just a 4" square plate of 316 stainless, 3/8" thick, with a cylindrical fitting welding on top... The fitting is also 316 stainless with a 1.5" OD, and 1" ID, and 1.5" length... The task at hand is to TIG weld the fitting to the plate by running a bead completely around the base of the fitting...

The problem I keep running into is that the weld bead keeps cracking (longitudionally) down the center of the bead all the way around the fitting... Almost like its being pulled apart, and it just splits...

I've even tried preheating the base metal to around 350F to no avail... The welding set up I have been using is a Syncrowave 250DX, 2% red (3/32 Dia.) electrode, 100% argon gas, 316L filler rod (1/16" Dia.), 130-150 Amps DCEN...

There must be something that is going wrong because the model we're trying to replicate has a beautiful weld on it...

If anyone has any ideas or could suggest special techniques for this type of application, I would greatly appreciate the help...

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Torque1018 View Post
    Hey guys,

I'm definately new around here, and I just wanted to say the site looks great, and I'm sure I'll be back often to read over all the various threads...