Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Aluminum Help Please

Can anyone please give me some suggestions as I am new at this. I tried running a few beads on some 1/8 6061. I cleaned the plate with a scotch bright hand pad, then wiped it clean. I'm using 3/32 Ceriated (sharp point), CFH@13, 3/32 4043 filler. NO.6 cup (no gas lens). I'm curious why the bead was coming out so wide? they're anywere from 1/4 to almost 3/8" wide. They are also very dirty, I could see black stuff floating in as I dipped the filler (not sure if this was coming from the parent material or filler), and they even feel rough or gritty. I tried the the balance at 20 and then 10 for max penetration, 125 - 150 A, and tried 100 to 125 hz. I noticed as I pull the electrode away from the part, the arc widens, how close should the electrode be held to the part? Any help would be great.
    Attached Images Attached Images

TIG likes a short arc, try for 1/8" or less. A #6 cup is pretty small for learning, try a #8 if space allows. Stickout is more important with alum, 1/8" with a #8 cup. A gas lens is more forgiving with stickout. The black peppering is probably from contamination. More penetration = less cleaning; however don't go to 'full' cleaning without any penetration.

CFH is good and 3/32" filler is too.

A wide bead is either too hot or too slow.

What welder? Do you have a pedal or is this lift arc; etc? If you'd like, you can jump up to User CP at the top left of the page and fill in you signature with this info.
    RETIRED desk jockey.

Hobby weldor with a little training.

Craftsman O/A---Flat, Vert, Ovhd, Horz.

Miller Syncrowave 250.

Default Aluminum Help