Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Syncrowave 200

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    605

    Default baby toys

    I was thinkn' 'bout akin a few more and turnig it them into a mobile... Hahahaha! I have to wait and see how much it drives my buddy nuts first!

    Wizzad, How much tig experience you have?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Camden, SC
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SignWave View Post
    Duh, never mind... I get it now... Duh...

    Im going to give this to a friend. I sealed some coins inside to make noise as it is handled. Lets hope it drives him nutz trying to figure out what it is!!! HAHahahahahaha!!!
    Evil. P-U-R-E-E-V-I-L!!! ROFLMAO!!! If you were MY friend I'd bean you over the head with it if you gave it to me!

    Clint Baxley
    Baxley Welding Service
    Rembert, SC 29128

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Frost, LA
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SignWave View Post
    Wizzad, How much tig experience you have?
    Not much...maybe 3 hours. I have to say I'm addicted though

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Frost, LA
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I was reading what the machine comes with and noticed that the machine comes with a 150A torch. Thats fine but this is a 200A machine. Does this mean i can only weld up to 150A with this setup?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Ive got the same machine, I havent cranked it yet, but maybe some day.
    the rule of thumb is about an amp per thousands on an inch of material thickness. I am using aluminum as the standard. the same rule loosely applies to the electrode. A 1/8th(0.125") is good for about 100-150 amps in all but DCEP. the torch will accept a 5/32' electrode too.

    rattle rattel rattle.. hehehehehe.....

    This machine has done everything i have put to it so far. Ive done 1/4' aluminum no problem and 1/8 steel too.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Question 150 amp torch

    wizzade
    I was reading what the machine comes with and noticed that the machine comes with a 150A torch. Thats fine but this is a 200A machine. Does this mean i can only weld up to 150A with this setup?

    no it dose not. the torch is rated at 100% duty cycle at 150amps the torch can go over 150amps just for shorter periods of time just like the welder has a duty cycle so too dose the torch. most all torches are rated at 100% duty cycle. where as most welders are not named for there 100% duty cycle.
    the syncrowave is rated at
    Rated Output

    150 A at 26 V, 40% Duty Cycle

    so as you can see the syncrowave is rated lower than the 150amp torch they ship with it. you will be fine to use the torch for the full range of the syncrowave 200. the #17 torch is very common and is on most all the 180-225 amp welders. i have one on my TA-185. its a nice size and feel. if later you chose to get a smaller one for tight spots or just for low amp use thats possible as well as adding a cooler. torches come in all sizes and styles. the #17 is a good mid range torch. after you have been TIGing for a wile if you feel the need or want you can easily change it out.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ocean City, Maryland
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wizzade View Post
    I was reading what the machine comes with and noticed that the machine comes with a 150A torch. Thats fine but this is a 200A machine. Does this mean i can only weld up to 150A with this setup?
    You can weld 200 with it as fun4now said but at a lower duty cycle there, but dont worry you'll know when to stop, you wont be able to hold the torch anymore. My SW180 has the same torch and has worked great, I like my 180 [now the 200] I have never tried pulsed tig, I have a pulsed MIG and that works good. I use the 180 almost exclusively on aluminum [AC]

    Congrats on the new machine
    Scott
    HMW [Heavy Metal welding]

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ocean City, Maryland
    Posts
    951

    Default

    if later you chose to get a smaller one for tight spots or just for low amp use thats possible as well as adding a cooler. torches come in all sizes and styles. the #17 is a good mid range torch. after you have been TIGing for a wile if you feel the need or want you can easily change it out.


    I got a very small, short cup, collet and collet body for mine. I use the the short back cap and that made the torch very short, I needed to weld some cracked headers and the regular back cap and cup made the torch to long to fit in between. Worked great. I think I got the collets in 3/32. I can find the part numbers if you need them
    Scott
    HMW [Heavy Metal welding]

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    I have never tried pulsed tig,
    LOL i tryed mine for a few sec. but needed a better understanding of TIG first and never got back to it again. i am interested in plying with it at some point, so glad i have the option.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ocean City, Maryland
    Posts
    951

    Smile

    For MIG I understand the benefit of pulse but TIG I'm not sure I do understand the benefit since you can control the heat, where MIG you cannot, I dont have a pulsed tig to play with so really cant test it. Somebodys thoughts would be appreciated
    Scott
    HMW [Heavy Metal welding]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 62

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 137