Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Chrome Moly tube welding?

Any help on welding frame for go-kart? A buddy has a son with a hotrod go- kart and they want to put a different engine in it and they need one of the cross bars moved. I have welded many years but never chrome moly. Any help would be good!!!

This ain't gonna be good.
    Dynasty 350DX
    Dynasty 200DX TigRunner
    MM 350P
    MM Passport Plus
    Spectrum 375 Extreme
    08' Trailblazer 302

Default Chrome Moly welding?

Hey i'm looking for some info on welding chrome moly tubing. My buddies' son has a go kart and they want to put a bigger engine on it so they need to move one of the cross bars. I have been welding for quite a few years but mainly on things quite a bit larger( D-8, D-9, ect.) I have a Trailblazer 302 w/ 12 RC wire feeder and a Dynasty 200 DX. Need to know the best process and what wire or filler metal to use. Thanks...

I read on the Internet somewhere that you should weld it with oxy-acetylene...

Lots of stuff on this subject.
    Do a search. You'll find enough stuff to make your eyes hurt.

Long and short of it is...I'd tig it with ER80S-D2 or ER70-S2.

Andy

Thanks, andy

Quote Originally Posted by ROD BURNER View Post
    Hey i'm looking for some info on welding chrome moly tubing. My buddies' son has a go kart and they want to put a bigger engine on it so they need to move one of the cross bars. I have been welding for quite a few years but mainly on things quite a bit larger( D-8, D-9, ect.) I have a Trailblazer 302 w/ 12 RC wire feeder and a Dynasty 200 DX. Need to know the best process and what wire or filler metal to use. Thanks...