Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default New Miller Syncrowave 200. Having Issues

First off a little background on myself. I work as a full time maintenace technician for the company that supply the Ford F250, 350, 550 truck frames. I have had numerous welding classes and am very proficient with Stick and MIG welding. I have also had TIG welding instruction. Though I feel I have been more self taught as I practiced over the last few years. I also run a Small Turbo fabrication shop. I build custome turbo setup for late modles drag cars.

Recently my Econtig died on me. I decided to step up to a brand new Syncrowave 200 machine. I am having some issues with it. It seems as I cant get it to hold a steady arc for the life of me. It usually ends up dulling the tungsten. I have it set up DCEN, 50 amps, Med start, Pulsing turned off.

It seems that after I start my arc that it comes in and out. I have a fairly steady hand and have been using the TIG process with the Econotig since early 05. I am lost as to weather I have my machine setup wrong or I am missing something simple.

I weld maily 16 gauge Mild and Stainless steel tube. Ocaasioanlly I will weld soem 16-18 gauge aluminum.

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Josh

Here are a couple pics. I am using an 75%/25% Argon/Carbon Diaoxide mix.

Josh Jenkins
    270-303-0531
    www.KentuckyTurboandPerformance.com
    Josh@KentuckyTurboandPerformance.com

Quote Originally Posted by Josh @ KYTP View Post
    I am using an 75%/25% Argon/Carbon Diaoxide mix.
    Switch to pure argon. The tungsten will oxidize very quickly (melt/burn) when the CO2 disassociates in the arc.

For TIG, inert (or is it non-reactive? -- whatever) gasses only. Argon, helium, etc.