Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Exclamation Small truck help...

Ok. I know this is going to sound a little weird. I have a 1993 toyota 4x4 p/u. It's std cab short bed. I have framed up for a flat welding bed. I have never done this before. I will have a bobcat 225 on the bed next to the cab. The main problem I am having is with my o/a tank placement on such a small platform. The oxygen tank is roughly 52 inches tall and I think eight inches in diameter. The Acetelyne tank is half as tall and just as wide. My main concern is trying to recess the tanks into the bed. I could go outside the frame rails in front of the rear drivers side tire, or behind the tire. I could remove the spare tire from under the truck and relocate to a rack above the welder and use that space for the tanks. The problem with the later two is taking up work space on the rear of the bed. I could try for an angled set up behind the welder on the passenger side, but feel like that would not be right. Can anyone give any pointers on setting up on such a small platform as this?

Put the tanks were ever you can.
    Build a fold down tail gate, all three sides if you want, (side gates).
    That should give you room for a work table.
    Put a fold up leg under the vice that will stand on the ground for support.
    Be safe
    Jeff

Give more than you get and
    you will get more than ya need.
    This is true for the good and bad
    that life puts out.