Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Backpurging pipe HELP GUYS

Hey guys my name is Ryan and I am an aviation tig welder and fabricator of custom turbo kits on the side. I do A LOT of pipe welding and I REALLLLY need to find plugs I can use for the ends of my tubing to backpurge with and I do not have the time to make them and I know someone out there makes them. I searched and searched and couldnt find anything please help me out. Thx guys
    Ryan.

P.S. the pipe im welding is 1.25/1.5/2.0" ID

Question SS Pipe

Teglove2: There's 3 Forum members that might be able to help you. KB Fabrication, Turbo38t, and Fusionking all work with stainless (pretty sure). If nothing else, send them a PM if you don't hear from them soon. I'm sure there are many others, but these 3 come to my mind "right off the bat."

Good Luck

Dave
    "Bonne journe'e mes amis"

If I don't have the right size plug I break out the masking tape and paper .

A plastic end cap off of the pipe that the manufacturer sends the pipe wth works well if the end to purge has no flange to interfere wth.Other options are purge paper,cardboard,foil or maskin tape.
    2, XMT's 350 cc/cv
    1, XMT 350 vs
    1, TRAILBLAZER 302
    1, MILLER DVI
    1, PASSPORT PLUS
    1, DYNASTY 200 DX
    1, MAXSTAR 150 STL
    1, HOBART CHAMP
    1, HF-251 BOX
    1, S-74d
    1, S-75DXA
    2, 12-RC SUITCASES
    2, 30 A spoolguns

Quote Originally Posted by Showdog75 View Post
    If I don't have the right size plug I break out the masking tape and paper .