Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default how to convert my 3 wire Millermatic to 4 wire

Sorry if a relevant topic already exists but I've spent quite a bit of time searching and can't find it.

Just bought a 1989 Millermatic 200. It has a 3-wire 240v plug. I have no 240v outlet in my home. By code and for safety reasons, if I install a new 240v outlet, it should be 4-wire. How can I convert my welder to a 4 wire plug? Common sense says I need to replace the 3-wire cord and plug with a 4-wire so the real question is how do I connect the white neutral '4th wire' to the welder?

I've never welded before and I'm anxious to start but at my age, I'm very safety conscious.

Thanks!
    Brad

I am by no means an electrician,but none of my 240 volt machines have 4 wires.
    2, XMT's 350 cc/cv
    1, XMT 350 vs
    1, TRAILBLAZER 302
    1, MILLER DVI
    1, PASSPORT PLUS
    1, DYNASTY 200 DX
    1, MAXSTAR 150 STL
    1, HOBART CHAMP
    1, HF-251 BOX
    1, S-74d
    1, S-75DXA
    2, 12-RC SUITCASES
    2, 30 A spoolguns

Lightbulb

what he said.
    you can wire it with 4 wires, the 4th wire in the plug is a ground hooked the to box or frame of the outlet, only 3 will go from the plug to the welder. they are just not set up to use an extra ground.
    you are thinking
    red, black as hot leads
    white as a neutral, and green or bare as a ground.
    you can do that and the green or ground will end at the plug box. the welder dose not get the extra ground wire. the plug will only have 3 prongs.
    hope that helps a bit.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com