Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Tig welding 4130 tubes, neeb question

I am a college student at Polytechnic University of Brooklyn.

I am doing a project called Formula SAE. Its a basically a formula 1 car but smaller and slower.

Anyways, I am doing a 4130 steel frame from 1", 0.75", 0.625", 0.5" tubes thickness from 0.035" to 0.095" (mostly 0.035"). I have a Tig welder, it goes up to 325Amps on the dial.

I need to purchase gas, filler rods, and tungsten/cup.

I was wondering if anyone know which one should I get. Which filler rods, tungsten and cup size and type, what gas I need. Any help and tips would be appreciated.

welcome to the site.
    you will need strait argon for gas. the tungsten, cup and torch will all be dependant in part to the welder you are using, be it transformer or inverter. so what is the welder you will be useing ??
    and you just have to show us some pic's of this project as it progresses.
    Miller has an excelent TIG book free to download in its literiture section, i would atleast download and read it but i recomend the student package for $25 you cant go wrong, i got it a wile ago and its a great packet.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

I have a Heliarc 252, Solid State AC/DC TIG Welder Transformer/ SCR, that what it says.

Ye, I will post pics as soon as I start welding the thing.