Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Welding rebar

Default Welding rebar

I'm still new to welding and I need some help. I'd like to weld some mild steel rebar together but I'm not sure which wire and liner to use. Can anyone advise me on which setting to use on my Shopmate 300 (wire speed and heat) and I'd like to use flux cored wire as I'm welding outside.
    The rebar is 1/4".

Thanks

J>

Rebar for what?

If you are just using Rebar for "stuff" weld it up like Mild steel.

Structural- I have no idea.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

Yup, not sure what the settings for your machine are but its welded all the time for common stuff. Use common steel wire or electrodes.

Default rebar

If it will be subject to any stress at all, use 7018 or higher strength low hydrogen electrode, or for wire, Lincoln superarc la75 which is 8018 and you can use regular 75/25 mix gas to shield.

I have experimented with rebar and was able to break the welds when they were standard wire (eros70) or mild steel electrode (6011). Moving up to Lo Hydrogen, not able to break.

For what it is worth, that's my 2 cents.
    Artist Blacksmith
    Historic Downtown
    Paris, Texas
    Dynasty 200dx
    Trailblazer 302
    12VS wire feeder
    Lincoln 215
    Miller Passport
    Miller 375 plasma
    Hossfeld bender
    Antique SA200