Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default Electrical Power for Shop

    I am building a 1750 sq/ft metal building on my place. It will be used for general fab and auto/motorcycle fab. I am planning on:

    - two 240v/50a circuits for MIG/TIG and plasma cutters.
    - one 2240/30 for a table saw
    - one 240v/30a for a window unit a/c.
    - one 240v/30a for an air compressor.

    Otherwise just an adequate number of 120v outlets and lighting. Any words of wisdom from those who have done it?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by woolecox; 06-28-2007 at 05:10 PM. Reason: rethink

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    511

    Default

    make shure u have at least one outlet for each machine or more. swapin plugs all day and dragging around cords stinks .
    welding...its awsome

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    50 amps will not get you a TIG unit unless its an inverter. thats a large bill to foot. you would be much better off to upgrade to a larger service right now befor you build and alow for 100 to 150 for the TIG unit.
    a syncro200 will need a 60amp minimum. with a 100 amp circuit you could pick up a realy nice syncro 250 used for about $1500 possibly even with a cooler. i had to go inverter because i did not have the power available to get a transformer and i can tell you the odds of finding a good inverter used are low. being as its a home shop a good used transformer will serve you well, they are bulletproof and will last longer than you will. unless you are looking at production aluminum runs a nice transformer would realy be the way to go. much better $ to amp ratio.
    the MIG and plasma cutters should be ok on a 50amp but i would make shore they both have there own. many times i have the MIG and plasma going at the same time. not cutting and welding at the same time , but on so i can swich off between the 2. haveing to keep unplugging one for the other could get old fast. although you could probly get away with a 30 amp for them if your needs are small enough. what MIG are you looking at?? the MM212 is a great home shop option and a 30 amp. will serve it fine. a spectrum 375 extream is not much more than the spectrum 375 and eather will again run fine on a 30 amp. circuit.
    so its realy a question of how big you want to go with the cutter and MIG but you should be ok with a 30 for each, not shareing but one for each.
    the TIG is the one that needs the power, unless you go inverter, and even then if you go big you need a big circuit.

    so what kind of MIG/TIG/ Plasma you looking at getting ??
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    How many MIG/TIGs and plasma cutters? Which ones? How big will the service be?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    307

    Default Can't ever have too many outlets/circuits

    I know I went nuts in my workshop with both circuits and outlets, but I figured that it was relatively cheap to put them in at this time, compared to adding them after it was finished. and I wouldn't have to drag around extension cords... 1st link is a pic of my standard outlet setup, I have this grouping spaced every 8 feet around my shop except for the 50/60 amp, there are 6 spaced around the shop, on 2 circuits. (I know, I know, overkill...) The 2nd is the thread I started on my shop, and no, it's still not done, though I do have an excuse, we added to the fam last year, so it got kinda back burnered. Priorities and all that.

    http://www.millermotorsports.com/mbo...1&d=1145765639

    http://www.millermotorsports.com/mbo...ead.php?t=5243

    Oh, and I hope you put in 200 amp service, it's pretty standard for residential, maybe a little much for a shop, but if its available, I would go for it, the cost isn't much more, and having the overhead would be nice.
    Last edited by alha; 06-27-2007 at 05:12 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fun4now View Post
    50 amps will not get you a TIG unit unless its an inverter. thats a large bill to foot. you would be much better off to upgrade to a larger service right now befor you build and alow for 100 to 150 for the TIG unit.
    a syncro200 will need a 60amp minimum. with a 100 amp circuit you could pick up a realy nice syncro 250 used for about $1500 possibly even with a cooler. i had to go inverter because i did not have the power available to get a transformer and i can tell you the odds of finding a good inverter used are low. being as its a home shop a good used transformer will serve you well, they are bulletproof and will last longer than you will. unless you are looking at production aluminum runs a nice transformer would realy be the way to go. much better $ to amp ratio.
    the MIG and plasma cutters should be ok on a 50amp but i would make shore they both have there own. many times i have the MIG and plasma going at the same time. not cutting and welding at the same time , but on so i can swich off between the 2. haveing to keep unplugging one for the other could get old fast. although you could probly get away with a 30 amp for them if your needs are small enough. what MIG are you looking at?? the MM212 is a great home shop option and a 30 amp. will serve it fine. a spectrum 375 extream is not much more than the spectrum 375 and eather will again run fine on a 30 amp. circuit.
    so its realy a question of how big you want to go with the cutter and MIG but you should be ok with a 30 for each, not shareing but one for each.
    the TIG is the one that needs the power, unless you go inverter, and even then if you go big you need a big circuit.

    so what kind of MIG/TIG/ Plasma you looking at getting ??
    Thanks for the input. machines I plan on using will be the Millermatic 252 and the Dynasty 200 DX TIG machine. Unless I am reading the spec sheets wrong, It looks like a 50 amp circuit will handle both. Up until now I have operated off of a welding generator (Bobcat 250NT) and a Suitcase Extreme MIG setup.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wartburg,Tn
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weld_13 View Post
    make shure u have at least one outlet for each machine or more. swapin plugs all day and dragging around cords stinks .
    Weld_13 is right by the way if I was you I would have a pro ele. do it if you ain`t 1

    Inferno Forge

    Chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    I plan on using will be the Millermatic 252 and the Dynasty 200 DX TIG machine
    sounds like a great setup to me. the dyn 200 only needs 30 so you will be good to go.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I agree. I forgot to mention that I also have a Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 51 Plasma cutter. I have been relatively pleased with it. You really have to keep your air source clean and dry to get smooth cuts. It also will run off of the same type circuitry.

    I can also power all of these units off of my Bobcat 250NT for portability.

    Thanks Again!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    How many MIG/TIGs and plasma cutters? Which ones? How big will the service be?
    Thanks for the input. machines I plan on using will be the Millermatic 252 and the Dynasty 200 DX TIG machine. Unless I am reading the spec sheets wrong, It looks like a 50 amp circuit will handle both. Up until now I have operated off of a welding generator (Bobcat 250NT) and a Suitcase Extreme MIG setup.

    I forgot to mention that I also have a Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 51 Plasma cutter. I have been relatively pleased with it. You really have to keep your air source clean and dry to get smooth cuts. It also will run off of the same type circuitry.

    I can also power all of these units off of my Bobcat 250NT for portability.

    Thanks Again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.