Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default Tig root pass on Carbon Steel

Looking for helpfull advice,Im an average tig welder ,but trying to learn a new technique on feeding the wire from the inside.Which they sayhelps brake down the walls better.I ran a couple three coupons 3" too day trying the new style. 1st was terrible,2nd was better,bottom was good top wasnt so good .I couldnt figure out if my angle wasnt just right if I wasnt sticking the filler through enough or my amperage to high.Im use to laying the filler metal in from the top.but theres still some guess unless you run a keyhole.I liked the way the bottom of the coupon filled in nicely by feeding from the inside,wish i could get the top.Any advice would be appreciated,tommorow gonna step up too 6" and see if it helps finding the propper angle.

There is no need to feed the wire on the inside once you get half way up the sides. Gravity takes over then and helps the weld pull down and break the walls down.The gap usually closes anyways by the time you weld the bottom quarters up to allow for the wire to be feed through the gap.I still like the gap though to be a little larger than the wire to help push the metal in so I usually switch to a smaller diameter wire or grind it open a little.
    2, XMT's 350 cc/cv
    1, XMT 350 vs
    1, TRAILBLAZER 302
    1, MILLER DVI
    1, PASSPORT PLUS
    1, DYNASTY 200 DX
    1, MAXSTAR 150 STL
    1, HOBART CHAMP
    1, HF-251 BOX
    1, S-74d
    1, S-75DXA
    2, 12-RC SUITCASES
    2, 30 A spoolguns

Thanks,for the reply.....That really helped becaus when i was trying to feed the top on the inside gravity was takeing its course.I'll run one tommorow and try your way.And my gap did close up on the top the last one I run.Ill try the matabo if thats the case tommorow...Thanks again....