Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    10

    Default Problem with 220

    I have a dryer outlet in the garage which i changed to the 6-50R for the welder. Its run to a 2 pole 30 amp square D breaker. It's a 4 wire set up. My problem is (amongst others) when i tested the outlet it only read 120 volts instead of the needed 220 for the welder. I tried looking up some kind of answer on search engines and the forum and couln't find any. Sorry if you've heard this before, but i'm totally lost. Any help is greatly appreciated.


    Thanks alot,

    Justin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,876

    Default

    Which 3- wires out of the 4 that were there did you use for the new 6-50r?

    You should disconnect the White at both ends and tape off - the Neutral is not used for the 240v 6-50R
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Broccoli1 View Post
    Which 3- wires out of the 4 that were there did you use for the new 6-50r?

    You should disconnect the White at both ends and tape off - the Neutral is not used for the 240v 6-50R

    The black and red for the hots and the bare wire for the ground, the white is taped off and tucked away. I'm trying to locate the other end of the neutral at the box. Thanks for the quick reply.


    Justin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,876

    Default

    How did you take the reading?
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I tapped off both ends of the neutral still no luck. I used a solenoid voltmeter to get the reading and then i used a digital multimeter. reads 120 volts everytime.

    Justin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Measure it at the breaker...
    Professional Auto Mechanic since 1974
    My own shop since 1981
    Cya Frank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Default Where are you taking your measurement?

    Where are you taking your measurement? You should have 120vac from ground to either hot . . And you should have 220vac from hot to hot if using a volt meter . . . make sure you are getting contact on the inside of your receptacle.

    On some heavy duty receptacles you have to really reach in with your probes to make contact. Sometimes on less expensive meters the probes are short . . . Also you have to remember a 220 vac receptacle is designed for a plug that will have 1/8" thick prongs, so you might be going in the middle . . . Wiggle around a little while watching your meter . .\My Flukes have no problem but my little Tripplet 310 does . . .

    As to using a WIGGY . . . I limit that to establish hot / no hot for quick safety check, not trouble shooting . . .

    Hope that helps . . . .
    Last edited by Wacko Welder; 07-08-2008 at 11:51 PM.
    Millermatic 251
    Lincoln AC/DC "Tombstone"
    Milwaulkee Grinder 4 1/2"
    Clark Grinder 4 1/2"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Did you check the voltage at the breaker yet?
    On some boxes you can plug the double pole breaker in, in an incorrect position & cause the problem you're having.
    Check & see what you have at the breaker.
    HTH
    Professional Auto Mechanic since 1974
    My own shop since 1981
    Cya Frank

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I went to the panel checked everything and it turns out the breaker was faulty, I replaced it to see if that would help and there it worked. Thank you guys alot for your help, if your ever in the Vegas area I'll buy you a beer. Now it's off to buy my welder.

    Thanks again!
    Justin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Smile breaker guy . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank865 View Post
    Did you check the voltage at the breaker yet?
    On some boxes you can plug the double pole breaker in, in an incorrect position & cause the problem you're having.
    Check & see what you have at the breaker.
    HTH

    The breaker guy got it . . . . I'm an "old" instrument tech . . . we are hard headed, we "check the loop" as a whole first . . . then trouble shoot backwards . . . but for power I think your source first (the breaker) is best way to go . . .

    Steve
    Millermatic 251
    Lincoln AC/DC "Tombstone"
    Milwaulkee Grinder 4 1/2"
    Clark Grinder 4 1/2"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.