Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    511

    Question how do i fix this?:(

    ok so ive got a 110 fwac wire feed welder and am having major feed issues. its to where u cant even weld with it. for some reason i cant enough tesion on the adjustment wheel and cant get it to feed fast enough or hard enough. ive already gone through 2 diff. tips and no results.
    welding...its awsome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    And yet you didn't tell us what you were trying to weld or with what settings it SHOULD work with for that thickness.

    When did it last work?

    How are you powering it? Dedicated circuit? Extension cord?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    511

    Default

    no extension cord, was trying to do practice beads on angle iron from a bed frame. it last worked about 2 days ago.
    welding...its awsome

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    729

    Default This should help out....

    http://www.hobartwelders.com/mboard/...ad.php?t=25343

    I just covered the troubleshooting for a problem similiar to this on another thread. Pay special attention to the servicing tips near the bottom. It's all generic information good for basically all makes & models.

    Later,

    On edit: before you tear everything apart, back off the brake on the wire spool. then run about 12-15 feet of wire out of the gun (without welding) Cut off wire, reset drive roll tension to spec and try again. You may have to rmove gun from wire feeder and blow out shavings. It's all covered in the link above.
    Last edited by Black Wolf; 06-03-2007 at 03:41 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    if you over tighten the flux wire it can deform and cause it to have problems at the tip. make shore its tight but not to tight causing deformations.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    511

    Default

    i got it working after pulling out about 15 foot of wire. it hit me what it was right after because i had been using a new box of tips and thought it could have been it but realized i was using the cheap roll of wire that came with it because when i first bought it didnt use the role that came with it i used one i bought. i put the stock roll on the other day and it worked then but i hit a bad spot in it yesterday. at one point this morning i was thinking about having it replaced because it was on waranty. thanks a whole lot
    welding...its awsome

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wartburg,Tn
    Posts
    575

    Default

    I have this problem to with my Lincoln 3200Hd but I think the reason 4 this because I got a 10lb roll of wire and after you quiet pulling the trigger it rolls a little bit but it don`t do that is it ahas 2lb roll of wire on it

    Inferno Forge

    Chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Eastern Ontario
    Posts
    100

    Default

    tighten up the tension nut on your roll a bit.- it should not roll at all unless the feed motor is pulling. 10lb roll will need different tension from the 2lb.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wartburg,Tn
    Posts
    575

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Eddy View Post
    tighten up the tension nut on your roll a bit.- it should not roll at all unless the feed motor is pulling. 10lb roll will need different tension from the 2lb.
    Thanks alot
    Last edited by wireburner; 06-27-2007 at 10:21 AM. Reason: OPPS!!! spelling

    Inferno Forge

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 74

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.