Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    flat , and lots of dirt
    Posts
    123

    Unhappy Give Me a Reason

    Why couldnt there be a spool gun made for a TIG machine?
    It has the power to do the job. It would sure be great to "swap cables"
    and go into MIG mode, as I do for SMAW. But with the capability of making a fast aluminum joint when the job doesn't require the finesse of TIG.

    I know that Miller makes a wire feeder that is compatible with my Syncro....but thats another $1200 or so.

    Sure would be nice.

    P.S. You know I did adapt the Border Patrol's handheld radio (Motorola xts3000) to our (MS National Guard) helicopter ICS/Radio system, when we found out that our Global Wulfsberg radio system wouldn't work...........It only took me a week........wonder how long it would take me to make a Syncro 200 spool gun???
    Last edited by Blackbird455; 03-23-2008 at 12:29 AM.
    SYNCROWAVE 200
    Atlas 618 lathe (vintage 1960) reconditioned DC
    Sioux 3/8 Pneumatic Reversible Drill
    Makita Everything else
    2400 square feet of Sanford and Son lookin shop space
    "Once the spoon flys, putting the pin back in won't solve anything"
    USA 15T, 15V

    www.myspace.com/blackbird455

    http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...5/DSC00356.jpg two cans, one welder

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    has to do with being CC(constant current) VS CV( constant voltage) of the power source. bummer but there it is.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    National City CA
    Posts
    1,086

    Default

    Ahh.... Shopmate switches from cc to cv flip a switch and pick up the mig gun.
    You'll have to wait for the spool gun though there are some electronics involved to get a mig to function with CC that's why even on the suitcase X Treme Miller recommends CV whenever possible Other side of that coin is don't use CC unless that the only power source you have.
    But you never know maybe Miller will think about it.
    Miller Syncrowave 200 W/Radiator 1A & water cooled torch
    Millermatic 252 on the wish list
    Bridgeport Mill W/ 2 axis CNC control
    South bend lathe 10LX40
    K.O. Lee surface grinder 6X18
    Over 20 years as a Machinist Toolmaker
    A TWO CAR garage full of tools and a fridge full of beer
    Auto shades are for rookies
    www.KLStottlemyer.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    flat , and lots of dirt
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Man,

    Don't you guys sleep? Why rain on my parade so quickly?
    How do they make a wire feeder that works if there is a CC/CV issue?
    SYNCROWAVE 200
    Atlas 618 lathe (vintage 1960) reconditioned DC
    Sioux 3/8 Pneumatic Reversible Drill
    Makita Everything else
    2400 square feet of Sanford and Son lookin shop space
    "Once the spoon flys, putting the pin back in won't solve anything"
    USA 15T, 15V

    www.myspace.com/blackbird455

    http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...5/DSC00356.jpg two cans, one welder

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    National City CA
    Posts
    1,086

    Default

    don't know the ins and outs of the circuit but I would manage to guess that in the CC mode it would directly control the wire speed based on the amperage Since the wire feeder would have no way to limit the amperage.
    I know I want to try one to see how well it works with my Syncrowave 200. If it works I'd buy one at half the cost of a MM 252.
    And no we don't sleep. I'm up enjoying my three day weekend after 12 days straight of 10 to 12 hour days. Irish coffee does the trick too
    Kerry
    Miller Syncrowave 200 W/Radiator 1A & water cooled torch
    Millermatic 252 on the wish list
    Bridgeport Mill W/ 2 axis CNC control
    South bend lathe 10LX40
    K.O. Lee surface grinder 6X18
    Over 20 years as a Machinist Toolmaker
    A TWO CAR garage full of tools and a fridge full of beer
    Auto shades are for rookies
    www.KLStottlemyer.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    near rochester NY
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    sleep........ not shore i understand. is that something most people do ? got any instructions or a how to guide, might be worth trying some time.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped

    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. james@newyorkmetalart.com
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fraser Valley, BC
    Posts
    593

    Default

    fun4now, here is a brief guide to sleeping, it is not nearly as complicated as some people make it out to be.

    Go like ****, until no amount of coffee or Red Bull will keep you awake, then find something flat and somewhat soft to lie down on. A couch or bed are two good choices. Lie down, close your eyes and you will wake up much later still wishing you weren't awake. Try it sometime, it feels nice.
    Dynasty 200DX, first generation
    Makita 5" grinder
    Makita 14" abrasive saw
    IR SS5L compressor
    Whole bunch of hand/air tools.
    and a wish list a mile long

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    2,469

    Default

    or...since you take enough pain pills to put an elephant down, try 2x more
    NO!! I'M JOKING!!! Don't want you to overdose!!!!!
    I'm not late...
    I'm just on Hawaiian Time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,910

    Default

    Actually, you can weld Aluminum on CC with a spoolgun, mind you it is quite diffcult to start. As you are then controlling the Voltage with the wire speed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackbird455 View Post
    ...How do they make a wire feeder that works if there is a CC/CV issue?
    I'm not an expert and have never needed to use my Lincoln LN-25 on CC, but supposedly they do adjust the wire speed on the fly instead of constant wirespeed when you are on CV. Also, it's mostly for thicker weldments and big wires, not sheet metal and thin wires.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.