Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Question What's The Right Way To Mig Weld A Joint

Hi Guys

I'm a newbie to mig welding. However, I've done elec./tig for some 16yrs. But unfortunatly, I never needed to mig weld. I bought a Millermatic135.
    So here I am.

I'm about to take the challenge an restore my ' 66 Mustang Convert.

Here's what I've been reading about and is this the right way to
    mig weld a joint.

1st. Clean the metal and spray with Weld-thru coating.
    2nd. Tac at different places before I lay-down a continous bead.
    3rd. After the joint is sealed spray with an rust converter.
    4th. Cover entire weld with seam sealer.
    5th. Spray with an primer/ etching primer.

Is that the steps I should do as I prepare to weld a joint together?

If I missed anything please don't hesitate to help me out and direct me
    to the correct steps.

Thank you
    GOD Bless

Schooner

I personally wouldn't bother with the weld through covering (you wouldn't prep a tig joint then spray it in paint would you?) it's just a potential contaminant in your weld. Tack weld everything as you said but i would go for a series of small 'stitch' welds maybe an inch or so long and lay them at intervals coming back to 'fill in' the gaps. This should reduce the risk of burning a hole in the joint.

I'm not really ann expert in body repair so maybe somebody from the motorsport board may be able to help you some more.

Russ

Hi Russ

The weld-thru spray prevents the area from rusting-up after I finish mig welding the 18ga. sheet metal.

Its a great way to stop rust after welding.
    And the seam sealer is a protection over the weld when its completed.

Other than that Thank you for you input.

GOD Bless

Schooner

Talking