Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Exclamation Synchrowave 200 electrical Malcraptions

Syncrowave 200............

WOrks great in DCEN and DCEP..........

A/C , well, looks like a bad joke, I have arc coming from all sides of the tungsten, can't even make a bead.............

The arc starts off strong, but just craps out, after about three or so seconds it will stop, for about a second then re-start, arc for one to two seconds, and repeat the pause, then crap out again, weaker every time until all you hear is Argon flowing.

One hint is the 110/15 accessory plug only spins a grinder at about 40% of max speed, and only dimly lights a drop light.

I'm not an electrician, so I admit I dont even know how to check the voltage , static or dynamic(under load), in a 220v/ 50a plug.

I replaced the old receptacle on the circit............

Not sure of the wire # but the individual (white, black, green) wires look to be about 3/16" each, and its about 30 ft long.............

Do I need a bigger gauge wire?

Is there an internal connection on the welder that I may need to check?

Do I need to seek professional help? (electrician, psychiatrist, etc....)

Help please, before I end up welding up a rocking chair out of 1 1/2 x 1/8
    angle (using DCEP SMAW , and 7018 rod of course) and rock for hours on end staring at my beautiful blue machine and laughing madly.
    Last edited by Blackbird455; 03-05-2008 at 01:49 AM.
    SYNCROWAVE 200
    Atlas 618 lathe (vintage 1960) reconditioned DC
    Sioux 3/8 Pneumatic Reversible Drill
    Makita Everything else
    2400 square feet of Sanford and Son lookin shop space
    "Once the spoon flys, putting the pin back in won't solve anything"
    USA 15T, 15V

www.myspace.com/blackbird455

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...5/DSC00356.jpg two cans, one welder