Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Fixing shanks on an Excavator Bucket? Hardfacing as well

I am a novice welder. have been doing alot of projects now for about a year. I have a miller bobcat 250 and a smaller mig 140. I have a friend with an excavator and the service rep sold him new teeth but when we put the teeth on they seem to have alot of play. They are the correct teeth for the bucket.

But i seem to have read something a while ago about building up the shanks on the bucket to stop the play in the teeth. I was curious as to how i do this?

Also I am interested in hardfacing his bucket and teeth. I was curious if someone can refer me to a source or fill me in on these techniques.

thanks,
    adam

I assume you're talking about putting the teeth on the adapters and driving the retainers in . . . normally there will seem to be a lot of play at first, once they are used they should pack up with dirt and dust and it will firm them right up.

Hardfacing material and techniques depend a lot on the material and soil types being worked with . . .

Default sorta.

Well the guy from the cat dealership said that the shanks were kinda worn. Their certainly seems to be alot of play in the teeth and i assume that would only cause more wear.

So i figured i could build up the the shanks and grind them down to a snug fit. Using 7018 or i was curious about using some hardfacing manganese rod because it would last longer.

I would consider replacing the shanks but once again i've never taken on such a task. I assume i would just gouge out the existing weld on the shank, knock it off, grind it down, put on the next and use 7018 to weld it on. But then again i don't need the shank to fail on him because I failed to do something properly. I've never seen what a new shank looks like. Is it pre beveled? or what?