Sizing an I-beam for overhead hoist

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sizing an I-beam for overhead hoist

This comes up from time to time and usually never gets answered. Here is a chart I found while searching the web because I need to set up a hoist for a customer. Whether this is a good chart I don't know as I am not an engineer so use it as you will. It should at least give you an idea though.

http://www.harringtonhoists.com/tech...67%20rev02.pdf

The hoist I am doing needs to lift 1000# and the span is 19'. The uprights/legs will be stationary mounted to the floor and one side of the i-beam at the top of the leg will also be mounted to the building. According to the chart a S8 x 18.4 beam should work. I am assuming the chart has a safety factor built in. I will research this some more.
    Last edited by MMW; 05-10-2017, 03:55 PM.
    MM250
    Trailblazer 250g
    22a feeder
    Lincoln ac/dc 225
    Victor O/A
    MM200 black face
    Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
    Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
    Arco roto-phase model M
    Vectrax 7x12 band saw
    Miller spectrum 875
    30a spoolgun w/wc-24
    Syncrowave 250
    RCCS-14

Thanks for this, MMW. I have built a couple of small capacity cranes for home use, and I always had problems trying to find the beam info I was seeking. This chart has it all right there. Good stuff!

Comment

Sure could've used that chart when I built mine. Heaviest thing I picked was 1400#....did just fine, so I guess I guessed ok.

Comment

Bigger web and more lbs per ft is always better when hanging a steel I beam for lifting..........as long as you have the ability to lift the beam into place. An 8" I beam can be had from 18 - 67 lbs per ft and a 10" from 12 - 112 lbs per ft............1000 lbs capacity really isn't that much......... Personally If you can lift it I would look at the 10" beam @ 25 lpf........about 500 lbs vs the 8" beam at 368 lbs.......and double the capacity.

Comment