Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

The forum is currently undergoing maintenance and is in a 'read-only' mode for the time being. Sorry for the inconvenience.

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to MIG

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to MIG

Hi Guys,
    I'm new to mig welding. I just upgraded the lincoln wirefeed that I got in highschool to a Millermatic 135. I'm looking at building some stainless steel handrails and other various pieces for my boat.
    I will be welding 1" tube with a 0.065" wall thickness. Seems like most pros use TIG. Can 0.065" stainless be welded satisfactorily with a MIG? Any advice? How do I remove heat discoloration? The tube has a mirror finish, can I match the weld finish? If so how?
    Anyone have any experience and/or advice on bending 1" stainless?
    Thanks in advance,
    Mike

MKP,

Yes, you can get good results on stainless steel using the MIG process. I would suggest using either .030 or .023 stainless steel wire with a stainless tri-mix sheilding gas. As for the dis-coloration this can be sanded and/or buffed out.

If you have more questions on the welding of stainless steel please give Gary a call Monday at (920) 831-4895 and he can go into more detail with you.

I have never been involved with bending stainless steel tubing so I can't be of any help there.

Kevin

Comment

Thanks Kevin

Comment