Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

The forum is currently undergoing maintenance and is in a 'read-only' mode for the time being. Sorry for the inconvenience.

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ring roller

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ring roller

This is my first attempt at a poor mans ring roller, I have about $ 20 in it. The bottle jack was the only thing I had to buy.

The rollers are 3 3/8 "x 5" round bar, I drilled 1/2" holes through them with my tabletop drill press ( Biggest drill I had )the rest is just scrap, and an old engine stand.

It worked perfectly, until I tried to roll some 1/4" x 5" flat, It rolled it just fine, but it bent the top shaft, So I cut another roller, This time, I had to drill the roller with a hand drill, So you can guess how that worked out, The hole is not quite straight. It still rolls ok, but I had to add the side guides to keep my rings straight.

I want to try to make another one, I came across some SKF 1 1/2" pillow blocks, but I have no way to drill an 1 1/2" hole through the 3 3/8 " round bar stock.

So it will have to do for now.
    Attached Files

Originally posted by bubba9459 View Post
    This is my first attempt at a poor mans ring roller, I have about $ 20 in it. The bottle jack was the only thing I had to buy.

The rollers are 3 3/8 "x 5" round bar, I drilled 1/2" holes through them with my tabletop drill press ( Biggest drill I had )the rest is just scrap, and an old engine stand.