Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plasma cutting table question

Hello all,

I am new to welding and plasma cutting, but it looked like fun so I puthased a Millermatic 211 and a Hypertherm Max 30. Been having fun with the cutter, and plan to start using the welder today (it just arrived last Friday).

I have seen a number of these on line, and I have a question. How do they work? My question is how is it that when you are using one you do not cut through the ribs of the table? I have thought about making a cutting table, but I have always wondered how one does not cut through the ribs/cross members of the table when cutting a piece of steel on it. Can someone explain how they work to me?

Also, can anyone send me some pictures of a smaller portable one that I can build and use? Do I put it on my welding table to use? Or do I need to make it so it stands independently?

Thanks.
    Darryl

with oxy-fuel cutting, any sort of air gap will stop the cutting. I believe plasma behaves in a similar manner.

Ideally, you want your cutting table to be a bed of nails sort of arrangement.

If they were not so expensive, id get acorn cutting pyramids and make some sort of table to support those. For something more real, an old drain grate from the scrap yard makes a pretty good cutting table.

Comment

This is one we made- small and rolls around.

and the Mrs. cutting some sheet stock

Ed Conley
      http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
      MM252
      MM211
      Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
      TA185
      Miller 125c Plasma 120v
      O/A set
      SO 2020 Bender
      You can call me Bacchus

Comment

cutting table

Thanks for the pix and the diagram -- is the barrel it sits on empty?
        Darryl

Comment

Originally posted by sport.pilot View Post
          Thanks for the pix and the diagram -- is the barrel it sits on empty?
          Yup- just full of cut out pieces of metal now
          Ed Conley
          MM252
          MM211
          TA185