Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Airplane Propeller

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airplane Propeller

I had been looking for an airplane propeller for some time to hang up in my shop. One of my friends told me she knew where one was and that she would get it for me. I did not know that it would be bent. Any ideas how to straighten the prop? I thought about heat but I have never tried anything this big before. I was also concerned that aluminum of this size would dissipate heat rapidly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Nick
    Attached Files

Send it to Alaska

Man, I've seen props on operational aircraft up here that weren't much better than that one.

Send it To Alaska.

Jerry in Anchorage

Comment

Hang it up bent. A good, used propeller hanging on the wall is cool. A bent propeller is cool, and has a story.

Comment

Originally posted by spotsineyes View Post
        Hang it up bent. A good, used propeller hanging on the wall is cool. A bent propeller is cool, and has a story.
        Tell people that you were in the plane at 10,000 feet when you hit a duck.

Comment

a really big duck. LOL

Comment

As the Prop will not ever be in service again here is my take as I have repaired/ straightened a few rims and forward controls.

You are definitely gonna need some heat and I recommend a nice oa set up with a rose bud.