Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Welding Table Top - thickness??

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding Table Top - thickness??

I know, thicker is better - I drool at some of the big plates people have used. But I'm just a garage welder, so I'll be making a folding table using some off-the-shelf legs and a top with angle iron braces. With the angle iron, warping shouldn't be a problem, so I would like to keep the plate as thin as possible for portability. What do people think would be a good minimum size? 1/4" thick enough? Could I even get away with 3/16"? Thanks for your input.

Tim

well you can weld on a piece of sheet metal if you want. whether or not it makes sense really depends on what you plan to weld on that table. if all you're doing is small thin-wall or sheet work then yeah 3/16" is fine. but if you want to clamp a piece of 3/16" wall 3" square tube down so it stays square during welding, then a sheet-metal table top isn't going to cut it.

personally i wouldn't use anything less than 1/4" plate for a table. my table is 3' x 6' x 1/2" thick.

Comment

Research "Welding Tables" in the threads . . .

If you can not for what ever reason "have" a thick table top . . . Look at all the skeleton type tables in here . . . Built from heavy angle, channel & square tube . . . Then you can still have a "plate" type table for lighter stuff....