Saying hello and asking for help- My tigs look like caterpillars

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Saying hello and asking for help- My tigs look like caterpillars

I first want to say hello and express gratitude for all the contributors that make this such an enlightening place.

My name is Anthony and I am a woodworker that is getting more and more excited about metal and have just purchased my first Tig machine after my local Makerspace went out of business.

I have watched a ton of videos and read through forums about technique and form, but I still am really terrible. I really want to get some proper training, but wanted to get some fundamentals down first. I would love any help you might be able to provide to get me headed in the right direction.

Questions: Should I stomp on the pedal or very slowly ramp up? And once you get a puddle going, is there much variation in the peddle until the end of the bead?

I have attached two photos of my practice beads. Why are my beads so plump and look like ugly caterpillars? I realize there are a ton of variables that could cause this (and I have included my settings below) but is there any general things I should be working on? I occasionally get a flatter bead, but I don’t know what I am doing differently from one to the next with no settings changed.

Finally, the miller settings calculator suggestions 12” per minute based on my mild steel thickness. I know I am going far too slow( It probably takes me 45 seconds to a minute to do a pass on these 2-2.5” wide pieces ). Some of my worst looking welds occur when I move more quickly and the filler metal really doesn’t seem to penetrate. Any tips on improving traveling speed while still getting actual adhesion?

thanks again and if this is too basic of a question for this forum, I would love suggestions on where else I should post.

Settings:

Mild steel 3/32nd - ground to remove mill scale

tungsten: 2% Lanthanated 1/16”

filler: 3/32

torch cup: 5/16