Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1976 Miller Dialarc dead stick

Hello!

I have an old HH Model dialarc from 1976 that I purchased off craigs list. I'm a hobbyist welder and have used the welder maybe 5 or 6 times since I picked it up a few months ago. I was running at about 100 amps DC and paused with the machine running to change sticks. When I went back to welding I had a dead stick. The machine was still "on", the fan still runs but I can't get a spark. I have it hooked up at 240v and a 50amp breaker. I've tried hitting the reset switch on the face of the machine with no luck. I opened up the panels and nothing looks fried and there are no burnt smells.

Everything looks good inside and I don't know where to start in trying to figure out the issue. Anyone mind sharing a link to a troublwedding shooting procedure or mind sharing their ideas?

Thank you!

Please post your serial number so we can look at the correct diagrams. There is likely a simple troubleshooting chart in the manual; do you have one? If not, go to the support section of this website and look under manuals. You probablywon't be able to find one that old using the ser no search field but if you use the second field and search by the ne you will likely find it.

Do you have any training or experience troubleshooting inside live equipment that can kill you If you touch the wrong thing?

Comment

Hi, thank you for the reply. The serial number is HH016237 but I didn't find that in the serial number look up. It did come with an old manual,
      FORM OM-314C
      Effective with serial number HF83949

Yes, the serial number is an HH and the manual is an HF. The manual diagrams match what I see on the welder in my inexperienced eyes.

to answer your question, no I do not have any experience trouble shooting live machines.

In the manual under trouble shooting,
      No output or weldingredients current: Open line fuse Orlando power switch defective.