SS 16 Gauge 2 x 2 - Gas & CFH?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SS 16 Gauge 2 x 2 - Gas & CFH?

First of all, hello all. First post here. I'm a completely inexperienced welder but I have a project I'd like to do that is similar to the only one I've done before - 20ish years ago - which is to build a brewing stand for 3 x 20 gallon vessels. I'd like to do it in stainless. That project from a long time ago was done with flux core on 1 x 1 mild, and it was truly ugly.

Here, I'd like to try and do better. Because it's a stand, it doesn't have to be food grade which is fortunate because I know it's ridiculous to attempt TIG with no experience. I know any welding requires expertise, but I'm hoping to learn with this, and save some needed funds.

This would be a 110V welder. I can't give the model because I won't be buying it - hoping to rent, or even trade for beer (what I did the other time). I plan on 309lsi, .030 wire, but that's just my best guess based on reading so open to anything.

The real issue is the gas. Using tri-mix helium, I'm looking at $350ish here in town. To be honest, I've forgotten the other tri-mix commonly used (mostly argon?), and I know it's cheaper. Still wondering - is there any way to estimate how much gas you'll need for a given project, and then rent a smaller bottle? After obtaining and cutting the stainless, with $350 in gas alone on top of it, it makes better sense to job it out to a professional who knows what he's doing.

Finally, I don't know if it's possible given this information, but I was just wondering if there's a CFH you set, for a given gauge and material.

Many thanks and nice to be here.
    Last edited by brewargon; 10-23-2017, 12:02 PM.

You could always use gas flux core with C02 or 75/27 gas and won't have to buy a bottle of tri mix. That's what all the local companies around me use...Bob
    Bob Wright

Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.