Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will I be disappointed with a Syncrowave 210?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will I be disappointed with a Syncrowave 210?

Hello all, I am a hobbyist here looking for advice on my next welder purchase. I've been using a Miller Maxstar 140STR for the past 10 years probably and finally looking for upgrade. I love my little welder, but the better I've gotten (I'm self taught) the more limitations I find with it. I'm also wanting the capability to weld aluminum. As much as I'd love a dynasty 210dx or similar it's just not in the budget, I've kept a close eye on craigslist for the past year or so and anytime anything worth a darn comes up (which is rare) it's gone before I can even get off work! The only other TIG machines that seem to pop up are outdated, worn out overpriced units. I've just gotten to the point where I've decided to just buy new. I'm not as much interested in the MIG capabilities (I plan on buying a new MIG welder next year), as I'm interested in how good of a TIG welder it is? With the current "build with blue" incentives the machines are hovering around $2,500, which is in the price range I was looking to spend. I do a LOT of thin sheet metal (16, 18, 20ga) and some plate, I'm wanting to start doing more chassis fabrication. I do weld stainless, headers, exhaust etc. Will this machine fit my needs? I can't seem to find a whole lot of opinions on these machines, and since I don't plan on buying another machine for another 10 years, I want to make sure it's a solid one. Any real world experience with one? Any better options for me?

I have a 5 or 6 year old syncrwave 200 and love it. I've had bigger syncrowaves that were water cooled and an abp 300. I used a Lincoln squarewave 225 which seemed to have a shorter duty cycle. The 210 replaced the 200 and if my 200 can't be repaired, I'm giong with the 210.

Comment