Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help with understanding welding outdoors, electroctution, etc.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with understanding welding outdoors, electroctution, etc.

I want to be able to weld outdoors year round but I live in a very wet climate. I don't have the benefit of an indoor shop, and I don't have the money to build one. I am a newbie at welding, having purchased my Multimatic a year ago and only used it 3 times thus far (it was extremely helpful to have).

When I used it I always made sure it was a sunny, dry day, and I plugged it into my outdoor 120v GFI circuit on my outbuilding where I have a 60 amp panel. I am standing on an uncovered concrete slab.

When it's raining I have nowhere to weld, and that's a real bummer. It can rain for months at a time, though we've been having the driest year ever. My outbuilding is wood floors, walls, etc. so that is obviously a no-go, not to mention the poor ventilation.

My question: If I constructed a lean to sort of thing off of the building where it did not receive direct rain, but I was still standing on damp ground, am I still risking electrocution? I can probably keep what I'm welding dry, and my gloves and what not, but the ground will always be wet. I am really naive when it comes to electricity, and want to be extra careful. I'd mostly be mig welding, not stick.

I am in the same boat and mig weld outside. I don't have any problems. But my welder is inside the roof. I just bought a 13' gun to reach further out...Bob
    Bob Wright

Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.
    http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...php?albumid=48

Comment

I've welded in the rain more times than I can remember. It's pretty much a non issue. But...