120V Not Working After Unit Warms Up

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 120V Not Working After Unit Warms Up

I have a Bobcat 250 and both of my 120v receptacles will quit working after using them for about an hour. If I let it sit overnight, I can use it for another hour and then they quit working again. I have replaced both 20 breakers and it still does the same thing. Any suggestions on what to try next?

Thanks

Sounds like something is heating up and opening or going into a high resistance state. Are you trained and comfortable probing around in hot circuits that can kill you? Going to have to check inside with the machine running while it's hot. If you are not comfortable with that, please find someone who is and will try to help. Please post your serial number.
    Last edited by Aeronca41; 09-18-2017, 07:18 PM. Reason: Fix autocorrect word replacement

Comment

I'm an electrician, but not a welder repairman. That's WEIRD!!! Looking forward to seeing the resolution on this one.

Comment

Wierd indeed. I remember one back in the 1960s -- trying to fix a Tektronix oscilloscope everyone had given up on. Triggering got flaky after runnng for 2-3 hours. Took me months of on again off again spare time to find the problem. It used vacuum tubes, and I found when it got warm the filament voltage in the trigger amp tube was dropping from 6.3 to a little over 5 volts. Found a 1/16 square metal bus bar so close to a filament pin on the tube socket that when it expanded from heat it was just barely touching and generating a "high resistance short" ( if there is such a thing) to ground. Bent the bus bar about a sixteenth of an inch and all was well. Hope this one isn't quite that wierd!

Comment

In automotive and industrial equipment it isn't that unusual. A component expands from heat and loses contact inside.