introduction

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• introduction

Hello all, my name is Rob just thought I would introduce myself. I'm glad to be here finally, I am a maintenance mechanic for a food plant and there in house welder. I've been doing sanitary stainless welding for thirteen years. And also home hobby stuff nothing major, but I am work on a 29 Tudor sedan hotrod. I will be buying a dynasty 210 dx very soon.

Welcome, Midnight! A guy with your experience ought to be able to make that 210 sing and do tricks. And a cool car to use it on! Nice!

Comment

Alright, some more stainless experience to draw from. And a gear head at that. You'll get along here pretty dadgum well.

Comment

Hey thanks I hope you all had a good thanksgiving. And as a gear head goes I'm still in the early stages but I do love them old flatheads.

Comment

We did-thanks!

My first car - back in '63 or '64 - was a Tudor '52 with a flathead. Actually had 2 in a row, a gray one and a blue one. And I loved those flatheads, too. Had their quirks, but ran great and certainly easy to work on. I always carried a spare fuel pump pushrod. Never had to use it but I knew others who did. And a propane torch in the winter time to heat the frozen door latch mechanism so the door would stay shut. not everything about the old days was good, but a lot was.

My first learning experience with heating, warping (bad!), and shrinking (good) sheet metal was making and welding in a left rear quarter panel on the gray one with the old Purox OA torch I still have in the garage after Dad's passing. I'm still amazed to this day what you can do with a torch, a bucket of water, and a rag when working sheet metal. This was long before anybody around our hick town had ever heard of MIG. I learned a lot at a young age! Dad had taught me all the principles for years, but your first "big" project on your own is still the best learning experience.