Shopmaster blows breaker MIG only

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shopmaster blows breaker MIG only

I have a Miller Shopmaster 300, s/n KD408963. My manual is January 1993.

It has worked fine until recently. Now it will sometimes mig weld, sometimes it pops the breaker. The breaker pops right when I pull the trigger, before the wire strikes an arc. I looked at my liner, it had a couple of minor kinks so I replaced it, no change in symptoms. I was welding 1/8" steel, it will weld fine for a bit, pause, pull the trigger again and the breaker pops.

Stick welding (reverse polarity, 170A) works fine.

I am using a 50A breaker which has always worked for me. I changed to the 50A circuit for my plasma cutter (different breaker), same problem.

Advice will be greatly appreciated.

Steve

Failed shorted capacitor on rail, replace em all

Comment

You're talking about the ten caps below the fan? 30,000uF at 50V?

They read like caps on my meter, but that's only a few volts. They aren't cheap, is there some way to confirm this is the problem?

Thanks,
      Steve

Comment

Probably going to find that one is loose and blown up. Though if one is loose, most of the others are loose as well. You can mark the +& - on the rails and meter (capacitance) on each one. Change out the ones that fail, but rest assured the ones you didn't replace will fail in a short time frame. Don't nessessarily have to buy them from Miller. Just have to buy the same style and same specs

Comment

They all look fine, all are tight. I realize that's not saying a lot, I'm just trying to take this one step further before plunking down $300 for caps.

Steve

Comment

Still gotta pull and test them individually. not the rectifier to cause problems.

Something surges, likely a cap. could be a failed gun as well. Trigger to conduit short may cause a problem
            Last edited by cruizer; 11-27-2013, 07:09 PM.

Comment