Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

The forum is currently undergoing maintenance and is in a 'read-only' mode for the time being. Sorry for the inconvenience.

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

MM175 doesn't power up.

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MM175 doesn't power up.

Hi, I'm new to welding, I just finished setting up my used MM175. I plugged the machine in and turned it on just to see if the feed rollers would turn. After pushing the switch to turn the machine on it remained dead. I checked the voltage at the outlet and that is correct across the 2 hot lines, there is power to the reset on both legs. I have no lights on the circuit board (green & red) if anyone has any idea what could be wrong I'd appreciate hearing from you, thankyou.

Unit has a transformer/fan motor, what happens even out of the box the wires to that transformer, come loose. Very popular problem with this type of setup.

Comment

Originally posted by cruizer View Post
      Unit has a transformer/fan motor, what happens even out of the box the wires to that transformer, come loose. Very popular problem with this type of setup.
      I failed to mention I did check connections, perhaps not good enough, I'll have to recheck them again.

Comment

You didn't check the connections at the fan motor, I bet, 2 wires to run the fan motor and 2 to power everything else

Comment

You didn't check the connections at the fan motor, I bet, 2 wires to run the fan motor and 2 to power everything else