Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Basics of electronics hygiene and PM needed.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basics of electronics hygiene and PM needed.

Maybe like many others here, a lot of what I think I "know" is self-taught from trial-and-error, half-educated guesses, reading things here and there. A few days ago somebody asked about cleaning the dust, et al, from an older welder. Cruizer suggested uncoupling the "molex connectors" (I had to google the term, found I have been using them for years without knowing they had a name) and applying some dielectric grease. Now, my uninformed practice has always been to unplug and plug any electrical connectors a few times to hopefully scrape off any oxides, and maybe squirt a little acetone in the plugs (it evaporates fast). The dielectric grease was something I had only used with the plugs on automotive ignition modules per manufacturers' directives, and on some connectors in boats per my own guesses. So I learned something (thanks, Cruizer).