Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tig welding 1/4" aluminum 1st attempt

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig welding 1/4" aluminum 1st attempt

Just bought used Lincoln precision Tig 185 with water cooler, this is my first attempt at welding 1/4" aluminum after endless hours of research on the internet mostly here and at weldingtipsandtricks.com. Im using a water cooled torch, #8 cup, 3/32 2% thoriated tungsten, gas lens, 3/32 4043 filler rod, 18 cfm argon gas. I have penetration turned all the way up, pulse off and post flow at about 20 and the amps are at max 185. I used stainless steel brush to clean joints,then sprayed with aluminum cleaner I also beveled all joints that I was able to. Its 1/4" C channel on 3/16 plate. I mig and Tig at work but only mild steel and stainless. This is my first Welder for my personal use, I really want to get good at aluminum. The inside corners are very hard to get to. I would really appreciate any suggestions
    Last edited by Goose14; 06-07-2012, 09:16 PM.

Tig welding 1/4" aluminum 1st attempt

Get more amps or preheat

Comment

cant upload pics?

Keep getting errors when trying to upload pics

Comment

Preheat

How do I preheat after cleaning?

Comment

Pics

Uploaded pics to profile public folder but cant upload to thread

Comment

1/4" channel to 3/16" plate is going to take everything that 185 has to offer.

Material must be real CLEAN and more than a wire brush is likely needed - especially on less than perfect finish material.