Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Millermatic 130XP - rheostat and PC1 problems (maybe worse!)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Millermatic 130XP - rheostat and PC1 problems (maybe worse!)

This is a copy of a message I just sent to Miller Tech Support. I am posting it here just in case anyone else has experienced anything even remotely similar.
    I am a NOOB MIG welder, but learn new things quickly. I only hope what I learn from this experience, I can share with others. This post may seem long-winded, but I have tried to supply as much detail as possible about my welder problem. If I need to supply additional info, feel free to leave your questions and/or comments.

I recently bought a used Millermatic 130XP for home use. The former owner gave me a decent deal due to problems with the wire feed.
    Being a handy guy, I figured I could fix it, (thinking it might be a flaky fuse).
    When I got it home, I fired it up and noticed the wire feed didn't run at all. I pulled the cover and checked the fuse, it was fine. I disconnected power, disconnected the gun, cable and stinger connector from the unit and removed the wire roll from the spool. I jumped the trigger connections to simulate a pulled trigger on the gun. I then set the power selector to "fan only" and plugged the unit in to the wall. When I turned the power switch on, the fan ran, but the wire feed motor didn't operate, even though the trigger connector was jumped.
    I switched off the power then changed the power selector to 4 and switched the power back on. I turned the wire feed to 100 and...NOTHING!
    I began tapping in the little black relay (PC1) on the circuit board...HEY, the big contactor clicked closed and the wire feed motor started turning!