mudwire blues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mudwire blues

So after 15 years in the industry I have found myself having problems with a process of welding those I work with make look so simple. I have worked with a multitude of exotics...everything from Aluminum to titanium. I have done stainless sanitary work and learned how to weld in a variety of precariously deviant out of position processes. I have had to weld components into square using heat in just the right places....But I have seemingly met my match in roll upon roll of Select Arc 720...it's maddening to say the least...
    My background is in custom Fabrication, and as I said before I have worked with mostly exotic alloys. My current job is pushing me into a part of the field I have the least experience with, dual shield! Now I have been told that my welds are immaculate by more than one person in the past....give me a TIG torch, and I can make welds look like a stack of dimes knocked on end all day long, in any size or thickness....and in any alloy. Give me a cobra head or a spool gun and I'll run miles of aluminum with seamless transitions and minimal warpage. but I cannot seem to get the hang of the dual shield world.