welding vertical with a mig welder

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• welding vertical with a mig welder

i am new to welding and would like to perfect the art of welding vertical is there any one who can give me some hints or secrets or ideas so i may perfect the art of welding vertical thanks to all who reply cato

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxAHPJL_crU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg9O7GhCc7A

Comment

I think my favorite weld is a vertical down with a mig gun. I run the same settings as I do for flat welds and use a backwards "c" movement with the arc. Some like to go down in power a bit for out of position welding but I like to keep the same settings and move just a bit faster.
      Stephen
      Millermatic 251
      Miller Syncrowave 200
      Miller 30A Spool Gun
      Hypertherm PowerMax 30
      Etc., Etc., Etc......
      Western Arkansas Welding

Comment

Flat and Horizontal

Originally posted by crazycato View Post
        i am new to welding and would like to perfect the art of welding vertical is there any one who can give me some hints or secrets or ideas so i may perfect the art of welding vertical thanks to all who reply cato
        If you're new to welding, perfect the art of flat and horizontal (grooves & fillets), and then graduate to verticals.

Invest in a GMAW Handbook. There's usually an enitre chapter dedicated to OP welding.

There's just too many variables and scenarios to cover in one answer.
        "Bonne journe'e mes amis"

Comment

Amen to opening a book. There are no "presto-chango" answers on here to get you started. That's what textbooks are for.

Check out the Lincoln Foundation's "New Lessons in Arc Welding". It will guide you step by step through every type of weld for mig, stick and tig. Lesson plans include weld procedures, amperage settings, everything you need to get started
          Big Blue 400D
          Trailblazer 302
          Miller S-32 suitcase
          12VS suitcase