Possible Dynasty 200DX problem...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible Dynasty 200DX problem...

I am pretty new to welding, i took a few classes at the college and have been practicing at home for probably a year since. I bought a dynasty 200dx and everything has been working great with it. Probably since this summer, something seemed to change when i strike an arc with the tig now. I used to get a normal arc that i could see perfectly through my hood like i'm used to. Now, just about anytime i strike an arc my arc starts out as this really bright blinding light and i can't see. If i step on the peddle and crank up the amperage, this usually goes away and i get my normal arc back and can continue but its driving me crazy because it never used to happen? Like i said, i'm not totally new to welding but i don't know what this is. Does this sound familiar to anyone? I'm not "great" about cleaning my surfaces before welding but i give them a quick wire brush so i would think its that. I've ground and reground my tungsten so i knew it wasn't contaminated. My shielding gas seems to be dispensing fine as far as i can tell. Anyone have any ideas? I mostly just work with mild steel at the moment.
    Dynasty 200dx
    Hypertherm PowerMax 30 Plasma
    Various angle grinders
    "Don't look now but your pants are on fire......again" Fellow welding student.

Are you using an auto darkening hood or traditional?
    2007 Miller Dynasty 200 DX
    2005 Miller Passport 180

Comment

I've got a Miller elite auto dark. I don't know much about tweaking it though, do you think that could be it?
      Dynasty 200dx
      Various angle grinders

Comment

Use a striker to check your hood. Even the sparks from a grinder should be enough.
        Con Fuse!
        Miller Dynasty 350
        Millermatic 350P
        -Spoolmatic 30A

Hypertherm PowerMax 1000G3
        Miller Multimatic 200 - awesome portable MIG (and stick and TIG)