help welding exhaust pipe please help me out tb302

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help welding exhaust pipe please help me out tb302

im trying to weld some exaust pipe with a miller trailblazer tig i am new to welding so please help me out the best u can i keep burning thu has anyone done this to put me in the right direction amps wire ,tugsten etc its not stainless just regular exhaust pipe

Try using 3/32" 6013 rod

If you are making headers or a manifold I can understand TIGing it. If you are replacing a steel pipe why not just use 6013 about 70-75 amps. You could also try 3/32" 6010 at about 55-60 amps.
    The steel pipe may be plated with aluminum.

Comment

If you do still decide to TIG it, torch angle is a big deal on pipe. Try to keep your tungsten pointed almost straight into the pipe, tilting back too much will heat the pipe ahead of the pool too much and cause it to melt thru.

Comment

First make sure your fitup is tight & clean. Gaps & rust will make it very difficult. Are you using a pedal or finger control to adjust the amps or just setting the machine? If you don't have a way to adjust your amps remotely while you weld & your trying to learn on exhaust pipe (thinwall tube) then it will be very difficult. Just keep practicing & if your burning through then it is either to hot or your staying in one place to long. I would use .045 or 1/16 wire with a 1/16 or 3/32 tungsten sharpened to a point & probably start at about 50 amps & go up or down from there. Straight argon about 15 lbs. Also what kind of joint, is it a butt or does one slide into the other?
        MM250
        Trailblazer 250g
        22a feeder
        Lincoln ac/dc 225
        Victor O/A
        MM200 black face
        Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
        Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
        Arco roto-phase model M
        Vectrax 7x12 band saw
        Miller spectrum 875
        30a spoolgun w/wc-24
        Syncrowave 250
        RCCS-14

Comment