Questions about stainless Tig welding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about stainless Tig welding

Im about to weld some stainless tubing for race car headers. I use a Syncrowave 350 machine at my day job and just bought a little Maxstar 150 for the night/weekend job. What method should I use to make completely sure I wont have any problems with rigidity and leaks?

thanks!
    Keith

I would tig them for sure.

Headers are a bit out of my line but I have done a couple of sets. I would reccomend purge welding them or they will crack if they are made from 304 stainless. I had heard complaints for years that a ss exhaust system is no good because it cracks at the welds, I made several of those for my vehicles and never had a problem one, but they were all purge welded.

As far as strength, mine went into a collector at the end and were plenty strong mechanically.

The material I used was .0625 wall 304 stainless tubing.

I am no expert thats for sure, but just a few things to think about.........
    mike sr

Comment

Originally posted by popspipes View Post
      I would tig them for sure.

Headers are a bit out of my line but I have done a couple of sets. I would reccomend purge welding them or they will crack if they are made from 304 stainless. I had heard complaints for years that a ss exhaust system is no good because it cracks at the welds, I made several of those for my vehicles and never had a problem one, but they were all purge welded.

As far as strength, mine went into a collector at the end and were plenty strong mechanically.

The material I used was .0625 wall 304 stainless tubing.

I am no expert thats for sure, but just a few things to think about.........
      Sorry if I sound ignorant, but what is the process for purge welding? Also what is your thoughts on Solar Flux?

Comment

Uh, Maybe........

Originally posted by 10secL View Post