TIG Machine Recommendations

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TIG Machine Recommendations

Sorry guys, I know there are several Tig machine threads, but most are pretty long.... I'm a novice, never TIG'd before and am considering a TIG in the near future just to get started in that direction once I get semi-competent w/ the MIG process. Most use would probably be thin sheet metal on auto bodies with some frame work.

I really don't want to spend more than $2000, so that puts me in the Diversion 165, but A LOT of you guys have pounded the machine. The Dynasty 200 is an option if I save up a little more and does give the stick capability... I'm still a hack w/ the MIG so keep that in mind.... So a few questions:

1. I found the Dynasty on eBay, but it says 200DX. Is there a difference between a 200 and a 200DX??

2. Does the stick that the 200 supports provide sufficient capability to cover most 1/4" applications (say for home use, building hot rods, that stuff..)??

3. Can you weld thin gauge sheet metal (like 22) effectively w/ a Diversion 165 w/o the problems w/ distortion/warpage associated w/ a MIG or O/A?

4. How about the upper end of capabilities of a D165 (again - the 1/4" stuff.... (I know their ads say chassis construction, but that's a little lighter).....

Thanks in advance for responding to yet another machine recommendation - also, if you know of a good thread on the subject (I could have overlooked it), just direct me to that instead of wearing out your fingers....
    Last edited by AlphaRat; 02-18-2009, 10:15 PM.

Hey, I don't need to post this thread - found another post similar. How can I delete the thread?

Comment

Go to "edit" on your first post and it will ask you if you want to delete the entire thread. Just say yes.
      Dynasty 350DX
      Dynasty 200DX TigRunner
      MM 350P
      MM Passport Plus
      Spectrum 375 Extreme
      08' Trailblazer 302

Comment

Alpha,