Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do you think of this oxy-acetylene outfit?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you think of this oxy-acetylene outfit?

EDIT
    Even after a better look, does this outfit still look to be china-crap? As a second option, I called my local AIRGAS and they recommended a medium duty outfit from Randor by Harris, would this be a good/better setup?

Hi guys, longtime lurker, first time poster.

I'm a newbie to say the least, but I've learned a lot perusing this community. I'm a hobbyist looking to buy my first torch outfit. A buddy of mine recently dug this setup out of his garage, which has never been used to the best of his knowledge, and has offered to sell it to me. Like i said, I'm a beginning hobbyist who does some light fabrication. The thickest metal I will need to cut is about an 1 inch thick.

It kinda looks like China crap, but I really don't know what I'm looking at. Ultimately, will this setup work well enough, or should I pony up a little bit of dough and getting something decent?

Just wondering if anyone knows anything about this and if what might be reasonable to offer him

Now Try Clicking on the Pictures

Last edited by BlackRifle223; 02-18-2009, 07:51 PM. Reason: fixed pictures, new questions

Sorry, but I can't get your pics to expand and my old eyes aren't up to the task of trying to read the details.

EDIT: Heck with it...if it isn't a name brand, forget it. Spend the money on quality once and it should last you a good long time.
    Last edited by WyoRoy; 02-18-2009, 06:04 PM.
    Miller 251...sold the spoolgun to DiverBill.
    Miller DialArc 250
    Lincoln PrecisionTig 275
    Hypertherm 900 plasma cutter
    Bridgeport "J" head mill...tooled up
    Jet 14 X 40 lathe...ditto
    South Bend 9" lathe...yeah, got the change gears too
    Logan 7" shaper
    Ellis 3000 band saw
    Hossfeld bender w/shopbuilt hyd.
    Victor Journeyman torch and gauges