Give it to me straight about my weld

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Give it to me straight about my weld

Ok, i was at welding class tonight, instructor had us t welding 1/16" plate fillet welds. im new to mig welding, heck, im new to welding period but from what you can see...what could i do to make this a better weld? or what did i do wrong if anything...thanks guys

Oh, and the spatter was not from this weld, it was from me butt welding different pieces. just so ya know....cuz i know someone was gonna say something about it..
    Attached Files

a couple more pics
    Attached Files

Comment

well, that's certainly looking pretty good, great profile, decent tie-in, I'd turn the voltage up a touch and try to get the toes to wet in a bit better. Looking good. How was your penetration?
      hre

Comment

here is a pic of the penetration...i would have liked to had more....but like u said, i think i should have turned up the voltage a tad...
        Attached Files

Comment

Those pictures show the heat affected zone well, but the penetration is hard to gauge. To get a better idea of penetration, make a cross-sectional cut of your coupon so we can see the pentration of the weld into the parent material.
          hre

Comment

ok, i will do that tomorrow at work. i have to get to bed now, its 1am and 5am comes early...i will post the cross cut tomorrow night and see what we have then....thanks coal...

Comment

Originally posted by ftgokie View Post
              ok, i will do that tomorrow at work. i have to get to bed now, its 1am and 5am comes early...i will post the cross cut tomorrow night and see what we have then....thanks coal...
              Sounds good, glad to be of some help
              hre

Comment

Turn the voltage down, and or wfs up.

What ever gun manipulation you are doing, could also be launching those dingle berrys, got to be mindful of crossing over and back too much into your puddle.